2010: Who's Out and Who's In?


NASCAR is kinda like Project Runway. One day you're in...and the next day you're out. (I know it's a stretch but I was watching PR while writing this and somehow my wires got crossed.)

I don't know about you but I have a heck of a time keeping all this straight. Seems like every time I turn around someone is switching teams or a two teams are merging. I feel like I need a flow chart to keep up on all the action. This post is going to be devoted to who's going where and doing what for the 2010 season. Look for frequent updates and let me know if I overlook something or get it all wrong. Remember it's a work in progress. Okay let's get started.

Red Indicates Out
Green Indicates In


Hendrick Motorsports

2009 vs 2010 - Looks like it's all going to be the same over at Hendrick at least for 2010.
  • Dale Earnhardt Jr. (AMP/National Guard)
  • Jeff Gordon (DuPont)
  • Jimmie Johnson (Lowe's)
  • Mark Martin (Kelloggs / Carquest) GoDaddy.com (20 races)

Stewart - Haas

2009 vs 2010 - Stewart and Hendrick will continue partnership for 2010 and drivers will remain the same.
  • Ryan Newman (US Army)
  • Tony Stewart (Office Depot / Old Spice)

Penske Racing

2009 vs 2010 - Stremme out Keselowski in #12
  • Kurt Busch #2 (Miller Lite) - Crew Chief Pat Tryson
  • Sam Hornish Jr. (Mobil 1)
  • David Stremme Brad Keselowski

Richard Petty Motorsports
Dodge Ford

2009 vs 2010 - Merging with Yates Racing, switching to Ford, Sorensen out Menard in - fate of #43 unknown - Engines to be made by Roush Engines

  • Kasey Kahne #9 (Budweiser)
  • Elliott Sadler #19
  • AJ Allmendinger
  • Reed Sorensen Paul Menard (Menards)

Roush Fenway Racing

2009 vs 2010 - Jamie McMurray out due to restrictions on number of teams. Crown Royal moves to Kenseth and DeWalt is out. Fate of McMurray unknown

  • Matt Kenseth (DeWalt Crown Royal)
  • David Ragan (UPS)
  • Carl Edwards (Aflac)
  • Greg Biffle (3M)
  • Jamie McMurray

Red Bull

2009 vs 2010: No changes here.
  • Brian Vickers (Red Bull)
  • Scott Speed (Red Bull)

Joe Gibbs Racing

2009 vs 2010 - No changes here either....looks like a few teams are happy
  • Denny Hamlin (FedEx) #11
  • Kyle Busch (M&M's) #18
  • Joey Logano (Home Depot) #20

Earnhardt- Ganassi

2009 vs 2010 - Truex going to Michael Waltrip...fate of #1 unknown

  • Juan Pablo Motoya (Target)
  • Martin Truex Jr.

Yates/Hall of Fame Racing

2009 vs 2010 - Yates will be absorbed by Richard Petty Motorsports. Fate of Bobby Labonte and #96 unknown


Robby Gordon Motorsports

2009 vs 2010 - Jim Beam out as primary sponsor on #7

  • Robby Gordon (Jim Beam)


Michael Waltrip Racing

2009 vs 2010 - Waltrip to run partial season in #55. New team added for 2010 to be driven by Truex #56

  • Michael Waltrip (NAPA) - Only running partial season
  • David Reutimann (Aarons)
  • Martin Truex Jr. (NAPA) #56 - Crew Chief: Pat Tryson


Richard Childress Racing

2009 vs 2010 - some changes in pit crew but drivers staying same
  • Kevin Harvick (Shell/Penzoil)
  • Jeff Burton (CAT)
  • Casey Mears (Jack Daniels)
  • Clint Bowyer (Cheerios Hamburger Helper)


JTG Daugherty

2009 vs 2010 - same
  • Marcos Ambrose


Fate Unknown
These drivers don't have a ride as of yet for 2010

  • Jamie McMurray
  • Reed Sorenson
  • Bobby Labonte
  • David Stremme

No comments:

Post a Comment